Clemson’s Hyatt Named ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy Recipient

Clemson junior offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt has been voted the winner of the 2017 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, the Atlantic Coast Conference announced on Sunday.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player selected the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. Hyatt becomes the eighth student-athlete from Clemson to receive the honor and the first since offensive guard John Phillips in 1987.

“Mitch is very deserving of this award,” said Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney. “I was surprised to find out that a Clemson player had not won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy since 1987. But what Mitch has accomplished this year and over the last three years has been significant, and winning this award just adds to his significant resume.

“He has been so consistent in everything he does. We have only lost three games in the three years he has been in our starting lineup, and he has a lot to do with that.”

The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. Hyatt will be recognized next weekend during activities surrounding the 2017 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game, which is for at 8 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 2, at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium. Hyatt and his Clemson teammates will face Miami for the conference crown.

Hyatt, a 6-foot-5, 295-pound native of Suwanee, Georgia, is a three-year starter for the Tigers. A third-team All-ACC selection as a freshman two years ago and a first-team honoree last season, Hyatt earned the Jacobs Blocking Trophy this season for his role in a Clemson offense that averages more than 35 points and close to 460 yards total offense per game. The defending national champion Tigers (11-1 overall, 7-1 ACC) rank second in the conference in each of those categories.

The standout left tackle earned consecutive ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week honors, first on Oct. 30 for his play in the Tigers’ win over Georgia Tech, and again on Nov. 6 following Clemson’s road victory at NC State. In each of those contests, Hyatt graded out at 93 percent while delivering five knockdown blocks without allowing a sack.

Hyatt amassed 15 total points in the coaches’ voting to capture the 64th ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy (no award was given in 1996). Virginia Tech’s Wyatt Teller placed second with 12 points, while Pitt’s Brian O’Neill was third with 10. A total of 23 players earned at least one first-, second- or third-place vote.

In addition to Hyatt and Phillips, previous Jacobs Blocking Trophy winners from Clemson have included fullback Doug Cline (1959), tackle Wayne Mass (1966), guard Harry Olszewski (1967), guard Joe Bostic (1977), tackle Lee Nanney (1981) and guard James Farr (1983).


Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy

1953    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina

1954    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina

1955    Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland

1956    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke

1957    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke

1958    John Saunders, FB, South Carolina

1959    Doug Cline, FB, Clemson

1960    Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke

1961    Art Gregory, T, Duke

Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina

1962    Art Gregory, T, Duke

1963    Chuck Walker, T, Duke

1964    Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina

1965    John McNabb, G, Duke

1966    Wayne Mass, T, Clemson

1967    Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson

1968    Greg Shelly, T, Virginia

1969    Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland

1970    Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia

1971    Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina

1972    Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina

1973    Bill Yoest, G, NC State

1974    Ken Huff, G, North Carolina

1975    Billy Bryan, C, Duke

1976    Billy Bryan, C, Duke

1977    Joe Bostic, G, Clemson

1978    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State

1979    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State

1980    Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina

1981    Lee Nanney, T, Clemson

1982    Dave Pacella, T, Maryland

1983    James Farr, G, Clemson

1984    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia

1985    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia

1986    Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest

1987    John Phillips, G, Clemson

1988    Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina

1989    Chris Port, T, Duke

1990    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia

1991    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia

1992    Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest

1993    Mark Dixon, G, Virginia

1994    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State

1995    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State

1996    no recipient

1997    Tra Thomas, T, Florida State

1998    Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech

1999    John St. Clair, C, Virginia

2000    Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State

2001    Brett Williams, T, Florida State

2002    Brett Williams, T, Florida State

2003    Elton Brown, G, Virginia

2004    Elton Brown, G, Virginia

2005    Eric Winston, T, Miami

2006    Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College

2007    Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest

2008    Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia

2009    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

2010    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

2011    Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech

2012    Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina

2013    Cameron Erving, T, Florida State

2014    Cameron Erving, T-C, Florida State

2015    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State

2016    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State

2017    Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson