The ACC’s All-Time ESPY Standings

The ESPY Awards took place on Wednesday night, and, as usual, the ceremony had an ACC flavor.

Florida State’s national champion football team was nominated for Team of the Year, and UNC alum Stuart Scott won the Perseverence Award, named for former NC State coach Jim Valvano.

In addition, Mercer’s upset of Duke in the NCAA tournament won Upset of the Year.

ESPN has been holding the gala since 1993, and the ACC averages about three ESPYs a year. ACC products have taken home 66 ESPYs in the history of the award.

Here’s a look at which teams have produced the most winners:


North Carolina 28
Duke 7
Florida State 6
Boston College 4
Syracuse 4
NC State 4
Wake Forest 3
Virginia 3
Miami 3
Virginia Tech 2
Georgia Tech 1
Pittsburgh 1

Three former UNC athletes have produced one third of the ACC’s wins. Michael Jordan (9), Marion Jones (7) and Mia Hamm (6) have combined for 22 awards.

Only four other ACC products have multiple ESPY wins. Duke’s Christian Laettner won three. UNC’s Charlotte Smith, Wake’s Tim Duncan, and Virginia Tech’s Michael Vick have two each.

Duke has company in earning an ESPY for a dramatic loss. Miami has been victimized twice in ESPY history, for a walk-off College World Series loss to LSU in 1997 and the Fiesta Bowl loss to Ohio State in 2003.