FSU’s Winston, Duke’s Cutcliffe Honored

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) – Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston is the Atlantic Coast Conference’s rookie of the year and Duke’s David Cutcliffe is its coach of the year for the second straight season.

The league also announced Tuesday that Virginia Tech cornerback Kendall Fuller is its defensive rookie of the year.

Cutcliffe received 62 of 65 votes from members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association after leading the 20th-ranked Blue Devils to a school-record 10 wins and a berth in the ACC championship game.

Winston had 56 votes after leading the Seminoles to a No. 1 ranking and a spot in the ACC championship game opposite Cutcliffe’s Blue Devils.

His 3,490 yards passing are a conference record for rookies and his 35 touchdowns are one shy of the league’s single-season record.

Duke safety DeVon Edwards had four votes for the rookie award and Pitt receiver Tyler Boyd had two.

Winston had 62 votes for the offensive rookie award and Boyd had two. Fuller received 25 votes for the defensive award, followed by 18 for Edwards and seven for cornerback Brandon Facyson.

Boston College’s Steve Addazio received two votes for the coaching award and Florida State’s Jimbo Fisher had one.

Cutcliffe won the award last year for coaching Duke to its first bowl game since 1994. He’s the first repeat selection since Steve Spurrier also did it at Duke in 1988 and ’89.

Duke’s 10 wins are as many as the program had in the eight years combined before Cutcliffe’s arrival in 2008.

Duke will play the Seminoles on Saturday night in Charlotte with a chance to claim its first ACC title since sharing the 1989 crown with Virginia and its first outright since winning three straight from 1960-62.